Windows: Day 4 Round Up

15 Jan

Day 4 started quite late, for the guys at least…

I jumped out of bed at 7AM when I heard what I thought was a truck delivering the siding for Phase 3 of our reno. After darting around trying to figure out where the sound of a truck beeping was coming from, I realized it was probably something else down the street and not here to deliver. I hopped back in bed to wait until my 8:00 alarm went off. When it did, I hopped up again, this time into the shower so I’d be ready if the guys showed up early/on time since Jer was at work today. I was done around 8:30, and had even gone out to move my car. Good thing I did, because the siding actually did show up this morning. I was having my coffee when I heard what I thought was the guys, but found a siding delivery going on instead.

Siding Delivery

Siding Delivery

The guys FINALLY showed up (all 3 of them today) around 11, and worked until 5PM. Today the kitchen window was installed so quickly I didn’t get a shot without any window in place. Originally the kitchen had casement windows which opened out right over the deck where we do our grilling, so despite being on the newer side (1990s, as opposed to 1950s), they needed to be replaced too. We also went with a double hung window here, but a bit shorter to allow for a backsplash, and to match the height and length of the other kitchen window.

Kitchen Before

Kitchen Before

Kitchen During

Kitchen During

Kitchen After

Kitchen After

They’ve also been busy installing sheetrock to fill in where the wall was removed as most of the windows are smaller than what was originally there. After the sheetrock went in, the moldings started going up, also at a quick pace. The kitchen got its moldings too, before we were able to and fill in the spaces with Great Stuff. There weren’t any huge gaps like some of the other windows, so it’s not the worst thing that we didn’t get to fill them.

5 Windows Almost Done

5 Windows Almost Done

The moldings are pretty close to what we requested, though not exactly. For reference, the guys were using the kitchen window we installed ourselves with our custom molding job. Using off the rack pieces, they tried to match our custom work. There’s been great confusion on what to use as the bottom piece under the sill. When Jer did it, he got creative with the router and thus everyone who’s looked at it has been totally confused on how to match the piece…. The final solution today was to just use a flat piece of wood. I was hoping to be presented with a more creative option, that still stayed with the simplicity of the molding style, but this was the best they could come up with. After some discussion, I think, they will be rounding the edges off a bit so the piece doesn’t have a squared edge. Apparently they’re not doing the bottom pieces today, so we’ll see what tomorrow brings.

Jer's work

There was a little overlap in the work in the bedrooms today, and in the process of trying to relocate Ishi, one of the guys who was trying to “help” got a stern hissing by a puffy-tailed kitty with flattened ears. She ended up coming out of her room briefly, then went back in and under the bed while work was going on in both rooms.. Eventually they were done in the middle bedroom. When she finally emerged from under the bed, I was able to get her back to the safety of the middle bedroom, although I think she’d prefer to skulk around the house checking things out!

Leave a Reply

