Lobster Repair

14 May

I’m sure this is a confusing title, but it’s true… I fixed a lobster today!

Since Christmas, Ishi’s favorite toy has been Santa Lobster. He’s a little stuffed lobster with a Santa hat, and he has crinkly stuff inside that really drives Ishi wild. She loves to stalk and pounce on him and she’s fond of somehow carrying on to our bed when we’re not home. She also likes to lay on her side and hold him with her front paws while she sort of digs into him with her back paws, which is adorable.
So, you can imagine our dismay when his stitching tore a little bit and his stuffing started to poke out a few weeks ago. And then today when we got home his stuffing was all over the bed and he was pretty much empty. It was time to take action!

20120514-225400.jpg

Corinne dug up a little sewing kit and I got to work stitching. I collected all the stuffing, and put it back in and reformed the little guy as much as I could. I even reinforced the stitching on his claw for extra security. He looks almost as good as new, but proud of his scars with contrast stitching.
20120514-225438.jpg

Santa Lobster is back to work and in typical cat fashion, Ishi couldn’t be less interested.

20120514-230428.jpg
I’m sure she’s happy on the inside and relieved to have her old friend back… I bet she’ll be boppin’ him all around the house when we’re not looking in no time.

3 Responses to “Lobster Repair”

  1. Marcella May 15, 2012 at 3:49 PM #

    Jeremy,
    I think you learned to sew in Mrs. Woodman’s Home & Careers Class in 7th or 8th grade. How crazy is this? I saw her yesterday in Stop&Shop. I did not talk to her – but if I had read the blog before I saw her, I would have told her that one of her students did learn something! ❤ MOM

    • Jerry May 16, 2012 at 1:17 PM #

      haha, well, I guess what I did was technically sewing but I certainly didn’t use much technique! That is an odd coincidence.

  2. Melinda May 16, 2012 at 2:05 PM #

    Well ishi couldn’t look more content, chompin away on her food with a stuffed lobster on her back. Purrrfect!

Leave a Reply

