Blocking Progress

10 Aug

No, it’s not actually what it sounds like… I think. Blocking is basically a way to keep the boards, in this case the joists, straight and vertical. You attach short sections of the same lumber perpendicular to the joists. These lock the different joists together so they form one solid unit. This strengthens the deck and most importantly fixes the distance between them, and prevents them from twisting, which they LOVE to do.

20110810-113931.jpg
“Don’t step on the edge!”
That’s what I said to Corinne, unfortunately I didn’t take that advice myself. I stepped on the edge of the smaller piece of plywood that was not resting on a joist. Well, in a very cartoonish manner, the plywood flipped up like a stepped-on rake and I was no longer standing on plywood, I was falling though, as was the drill, box of screws, clamps and framing square that were resting on it. I was quickly standing on the ground below straddling a joist. Luckily for me the distance from the joist to the ground is less than my inseam so I was ok besides a little scrape on my arm and a spilled box of screws. Of course, I have now screwed that plywood down so it won’t happen again.

2 Responses to “Blocking Progress”

  1. Judy August 11, 2011 at 10:05 AM #

    Hey, Jer, glad you didn’t get hurt but that must have been a funny sight to see.

    • Jerry August 11, 2011 at 11:48 AM #

      I’m sure it was!

Leave a Reply

