Gardening Attempt – Take 1

27 Mar

Alrighty folks! Here we go… My first attempt at gardening in our new home!

I was at Home Depot today checking out some stuff I wanted to check out – patio doors, kitchen flooring options, paint colors, backsplash ideas, etc. etc…. when I happened upon the garden department.

I’ve perused the seed section there before, dreaming of the bounty of veggies and flowers I’m going to grow in our yard this Spring, then Jer brings me back to the unfortunate reality of my alleged black thumb, and my inevitable frustration and eventual abandonment of gardens past. Not that he’s one to ever discourage me from creative ventures, but last year, I actually came home from work one night, encountered our half-dead tomatoes and herb garden and ripped them all out!

Today was different though. Jer is currently driving back from a shoot down in Florida, and thus was not there to remind me of past gardening debacles.

So, armed with a fist full of seeds and a “greenhouse” starter kit, I headed for the self-checkout, bagged my goods and came home to ready my new garden!

The whole greenhouse starter kit seems a bit dicey to say the least. It has 36 “cells” to plant seeds in…

Ready to grow??

It also comes with pellets that become soil when you add water, and a piece of plastic wrap-type of stuff they’re calling a “germination sheet”.

Very high tech & biodegradable!

I read some reviews of the kit after I opened it and had made dirt from the pellets. They were pretty mixed. Some people swear by them, others swear at them. I fear I may end up in the later group, but finger crossed for at least some growth!

I didn’t plant all the seeds I had since I did go a bit seed crazy. So if these guys don’t grow I will try again outdoors when/if it gets warm. Only the tomato seeds said to start indoors.

Here’s my very ambitious list of what I’m hoping will spring forth from the cells:

  • Roma Tomatoes
  • Basil
  • Parsley
  • Cilantro
  • Zucchini
  • Carving Pumpkins
  • Corn
  • Artichokes

Crazy? Totally. But the seeds were pretty cheap, as opposed to all the potted plants we bought last year that produced one wrinkly tomato and some basil that got eaten by a mystery bug!

For the record, I blame the extreme shade at our old house for my poor garden showing. I’m not ready to fully admit to having a black thumb. I did manage to keep TEN ferns alive on our porch for over two years, and the orchid Jer gave me for Valentine’s Day is still alive!

Leave a Reply

